top of page
Search
  • tamaradedominicis

Book Review: A Beautiful Spy by Rachel Hore


I adore Hore’s novels and they all don’t make it over to Canada so I was thrilled to stumble across this one at my local Shoppers! I usually have to special-order her works from the UK.


This novel is a bit of a departure for Hore. Though many of her works are historical in nature, this is the first book of hers I have read that has a single timeline and is firmly rooted in historical fact. Based on the life of Olga Gray, a spy for MI5 during the interwar period, this book follows Minnie Gray through the trials of leading a double life.


I expected a book based on a spy to be much faster-paced but I liked the authenticity of this story, focusing instead on the more realistic aspects of life. Gray’s life isn’t all adventure and her work takes an enormous emotional toll on her. I found this a very sensitive exploration of the inner life of someone who works in a role where they must hide their true self.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page